Craig Johnson Books In Order – Check Out The Publications Order!

Craig Johnson Books In Order

Craig Allen Johnson is a mystery novelist from the United States. His Sheriff Walt Longmire novel series is his most well-known work. Longmire is the sheriff of the fictional county of Absaroka in the books, which are set in northern Wyoming.

Johnson has written 15 books, two novellas, and numerous short stories featuring Longmire since the series began in 2004. The New York Times Best Seller list has included some of the novels.

The novels were turned into a television series by Warner Horizon in 2012. Johnson lives on a ranch in the little Wyoming town of Ucross, which has a population of 25 people.

Walt Longmire Books in Order of Publication

The Cold Dish (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Without Company (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kindness Goes Unpunished (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Another Man’s Moccasins (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dark Horse (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Junkyard Dogs (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hell Is Empty (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Divorce Horse (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
As the Crow Flies (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Messenger (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Serpent’s Tooth (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Spirit of Steamboat (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Any Other Name (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dry Bones (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Highwayman (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Obvious Fact (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Western Star (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Depth of Winter (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Land of Wolves (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Next to Last Stand (2020) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Daughter of the Morning Star (2022) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hell and Back (2022) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Related: Harry Potter Movies In Order – Watch The Movies In A Sequence!

Walt Longmire Short Stories/Novellas in Order of Publication

Christmas in Absaroka County (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wait for Signs: Twelve Longmire Stories (2014) Hardcover  Paperb

Anthology Order of Publication

Craig Johnson Books In Order

2017’s Best American Mystery Stories (Hardcover, Paperback, Kindle)

Craig Johnson is an American author best known for his Sheriff Walt Longmire series of novels. Johnson was born in Huntington, West Virginia in 1961, and now lives in Ucross, Wyoming, a little hamlet with a population of 25 people near Sheridan.

His mysteries are set in the West, and he has received a lot of praise and honors for them. He continues to create Longmire mysteries, which are frequently set in magnificent Wyoming landscapes.

Related: Star Wars Movies In Order – Check Out The Sequence Of The Movies!

Path to Success, Longmire

Walt Longmire is the sheriff of Absaroka County, Wyoming. Wyoming’s thinly inhabited area, where everyone knows everyone else. The Sheriff has been widowed for a few years and lives alone in deplorable conditions.

He is a decent if flawed, individual who has the support of the entire county. People here like Walt, and want to do everything he can to protect them.

Craig Johnson has built a believable character who comes across on the page as someone you’d like to get to know and who you could trust. This adds to the authenticity of the books since you can easily imagine yourself accepting and supporting Longmire as the law in your community.

Beginnings with a Bang

The Cold Dish, the first book in the Longmire series, was published in 2005. The novel received a lot of positive feedback from critics, and it was clear to anyone who read it that Craig Johnson had a real knack for the written word.

He has a way of drawing the reader straight into the story and allowing them to become completely engaged in Longmire’s world, hoping to solve the mystery alongside him. The first narrative introduces us to Walt Longmire, who is dealing with the most difficult case of his career.

Not exactly pleasant for a man who is hoping to complete his term in peace. The story’s plot centers around the apparent murder of Cody, a young man.

Craig Johnson Books In Order

The murder weapon was a rare Sharps rifle, and the only possible motivation is that the youngster was involved in the rape of a Fetal Alcohol Syndrome-affected Cheyenne girl named Melissa Real Bird.

Longmire had not expected to find this when he arrived on the site. The narrative is intriguing enough, but the cast of characters in the novel is both memorable and believable. The novel’s richness is enhanced by Longmire’s lifelong buddy Henry Standing Bear and Deputy Victoria Moretti, a tough ex-Philadelphia cop with a mouth as filthy as any street thug.

Two of the other boys involved in the rape have been found dead, thickening the plot. Longmire had hoped for a peaceful and calm end to his career, but this is far from it. The mystery deepens when it is learned that numerous of the town’s residents own Sharps riffles and have more than enough reason to do so.

To solve the mystery, Longmire needs cunning and tried-and-true police work, which he has in spades. For the novel, Craig Johnson won the Dilys prize in 2006. Not only was the plot fantastic, but the fact that Johnson was a police officer himself added a layer of realism to the story.

Related: Matrix Movies in Order: Check Out The Chronological Timeline And Release Dates!!

Death in the Absence of Company (2006)

Craig Johnson Books In Order

The Walt Longmire series continues on a different route in the second volume. This work focuses on character interaction a lot more. The story begins with Mari Baroja, a Basque woman, being discovered dead at the Durant Home for Assisted Living.

Lucian Connally, on the other hand, sees things differently, and Longmire believes what Connally says because he was the one who hired Longmire in the first place.

Longmire is surprised when Connally admits that he had been married to Mari for a few hours many years previously. When Mari’s uncles and father tracked them down and battered Lucian, the marriage came to an end.

With this second installment, Craig Johnson has developed an entirely different style of story, yet it is just as emotional and entertaining as the first.


Kimberly is a freelance writer with a love of writing and traveling. She has been writing for most of her life and has been published in various magazines and online publications. She writes about entertainment, technology, and lifestyle-related topics at Kimberly is always looking for new writing opportunities and loves learning about new cultures and experiences.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.