DC Movies In Order – Check Out The DC Movies In Chronological Order!

DC Movies In Order

If the Marvel Cinematic Universe is a complex jigsaw in which each piece fits perfectly, the DC Universe is a Gordian knot, made more confusing by canceled overall storyline ambitions and a lack of consistency in recent films.

There is a method to see the DC movies in order, although some may make more sense than others, and some will feel utterly isolated from the DCEU as a whole.

Of course, this isn’t the fault of the filmmakers; Warner Bros. was catching up with the MCU and wanted to get to their own team-up picture “Justice League” as soon as possible, resulting in a sloppy approach to universe-building.

However, owing to Zack Snyder, there is an underlying tale that can be followed if the films are seen in the correct order. We’ll go over how to view the DC films in order below.

Order of Events in DC Films

Wonder Woman takes place a long time before any of the previous DC films. The movie skips back to Zeus’ creation of the Amazon women warriors, who all reside on Themyscira’s hidden island.

DC Movies In Order

The majority of the plot is set in 1918, when US pilot Captain Steve Trevor (Chris Pine) is fighting in World War I and unexpectedly comes into Themyscira. Following Steve to London, Diana Prince (Gal Gadot) makes history by fighting alongside the Allies in World War I.

“Present-day” sequences take place sometime after Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, and they serve as a bookend to the film.

1984’s Wonder Woman

The sequel Wonder Woman 1984, with the exception of a prologue set during Diana Prince’s upbringing, is set primarily in 1984. However, don’t expect many DCEU tie-ins, since the Patty Jenkins-directed sequel is primarily self-contained.

Related: Marvel Movies In Order – Watch All The Marvel Movies One By One!

Man of Steel

Man of Steel, directed by Zack Snyder, is the film that started it all, and it largely takes place in the present day (circa 2013) – although the film opens with a prologue showing the destruction of Kal-home El’s planet Krypton, and we then see scenes of Clark Kent as a child and teenager growing up in Kansas before we get to “present day,” where he’s somewhere in his twenties – so about 20 years after Krypton’s destruction.

Dawn of Justice (Batman v Superman)

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice covers a lot of ground in terms of chronology. There are flashbacks to Bruce Wayne’s boyhood in 1981, when his parents were murdered, flashbacks to depict Bruce Wayne’s perspective on the conclusion of Man of Steel and flashforwards to a barren Earth overrun by villain Darkseid (those “Knightmare” sequences).

However, the majority of the tale takes place 18 months after the events of Man of Steel, with Ben Affleck’s Batman, has become exceedingly hardened and nursing a vengeance toward Superman.

Suicide Squad

Suicide Squad takes place around a year after the events of Batman v Superman, since the death of Superman is mentioned in the film, and we even get a cameo of Ben Affleck’s Bruce Wayne meeting with Amanda Waller (Viola Davis), who has now assumed a stronger leadership role among the superheroes.

However, there are flashbacks showing Batman pursuing Joker (Jared Leto) and Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie) prior to Man of Steel.

Related: Young Justice Season 5 – Latest Updates On The Renewal Of The Series!

The Justice League is a fictional superhero team

The majority of Justice League takes place two years after the events of Batman v Superman and one year after Suicide Squad, but there is also a large flashback sequence set thousands of years ago, when the villainous Steppenwolf attempted to take over Earth and was foiled by an alliance of Amazons, Atlanteans, humans, and Olympian Gods.

Justice League by Zack Snyder

Zack Snyder’s Justice League is a four-hour epic that is a more comprehensive and captivating version of the theatrical cut of Justice League while being non-canon. It’s also well-timed.


We follow Jason Momoa’s titular hero, Aquaman, as he defends his own country some months after the events of the Justice League. However, there are flashbacks from 1985 that depict Aquaman’s beginnings.


The majority of the solo film Shazam! takes place in 2018, although it begins with a flashback to 1974 in order to establish the origin story of its villain Thaddeus Sivana (Mark Strong).

Related: How Old Is Levi in Season 4 – Check Out The Actual Age Of Levi Ackerman In Season 4!

Eagles and Hawks

Four years after the events of Suicide Squad, this solo Harley Quinn film takes place. Following Batman v Superman and Justice League, the DCEU became increasingly disjointed, with just a few references to Harley Quinn’s actions in Suicide Squad appearing in Birds of Prey.

The Suicide Squad

The Suicide Squad, directed by James Gunn, takes place an unknown period of time after the events of the first Suicide Squad film, and presumably after the events of Birds of Prey, but the film appears unconcerned with DC interconnectedness.

What we do know is that Harley Quinn is back in jail (thus her participation in Task Force X’s newest operation), and Amanda Waller (Viola Davis) is a seasoned veteran of “Suicide Squad” missions.


Matt Reeves’ Batman is a prequel to the major DCEU films, focused on a youthful Batman in his second year as a vigilante.

Robert Pattinson takes over as The Batman, and director Matt Reeves develops a darker, more atmospheric Gotham for the picture, containing traditional Batman rogues’ gallery villains like the Riddler, Penguin, and Catwoman, as well as friends Alfred and Jim Gordon. If the movie goes well, there will likely be sequels and spinoffs.

Order of Release for DC Movies

DC Movies In Order

Here’s a list of all the DC Extended Universe films, in chronological order.

  • June 14, 2013 — Man of Steel
  • Dawn of Justice – Batman vs. Superman – March 25, 2016
  • 5th of August, 2016: Suicide Squad
  • 2nd of June, 2017 – Wonder Woman
  • – November 17, 2017 – Justice League
  • On December 21, 2018, Aquaman will be released.
  • – 5 April 2019 – Shazam!
  • – February 7, 2020 – Birds of Prey
  • Wonder Woman was released in 1984, and it will be released again on December 25, 2020.
  • Justice League, directed by Zack Snyder, will open on March 18, 2021.
  • August 6, 2021 — The Suicide Squad
  • March 4, 2022: The Batman


Kimberly is a freelance writer with a love of writing and traveling. She has been writing for most of her life and has been published in various magazines and online publications. She writes about entertainment, technology, and lifestyle-related topics at Gadgetgrapevine.com. Kimberly is always looking for new writing opportunities and loves learning about new cultures and experiences.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.