Star Wars Movies In Order – Check Out The Sequence Of The Movies!

It’s not simple to figure out how to watch all of the Star Wars films in order. There are nine films, two spin-offs, and Disney Plus episodes to consider, and there are many different ways to view the complete franchise.

Finding the best spot to begin and the best sequence to watch might be difficult, but that’s where we can help. We’ve covered the best ways to watch the franchise, whether you want to watch it by release date, chronologically, or in any other way.

We’ve also laid down the benefits and drawbacks of each order so you can quickly choose which is best for you, whether you’re a new Padawan or an experienced Jedi Master.

We didn’t include The Clone Wars, The Bad Batch, or Rebels, so check out our definitive Star Wars timeline and our guide to watching The Clone Wars in order to figure out where they fit in.

You may also learn about The Mandalorian chronology as well as where Boba Fett fits into the Star Wars narrative. Disney Plus is the place to go if you want to watch the tale. Now, scroll down to find out how to view the Star Wars films in chronological sequence.

Chronological Order of Events in the Star Wars Films

Star Wars Movies In Order

The Phantom Menace (Star Wars: Episode I)

The Phantom Menace was released in theatres in 1999 as the first installment of the Star Wars prequel trilogy, and it begins with the story of Anakin Skywalker, a precocious child who appears preternaturally gifted in the ways of the Force, a mystical, magical power wielded by heroes and villains alike in the Star Wars universe.

Attack of the Clones (Star Wars: Episode II)

Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen) has grown into a grumpy teenager and is continuing his Jedi training under Obi-Wan Kenobi in the prequel trilogy’s second film, set around 10 years after the events of The Phantom of Menace (played by prequel trilogy MVP Ewan McGregor).

Revenge of the Sith (Star Wars: Episode III)

The prequel finale pits Anakin against Obi-Wan, as Anakin succumbs to the dark side and finally becomes the monstrous Darth Vader. Padmé gives birth to twins, Luke and Leia, while he is out fighting his mentor. Meanwhile, the Republic is demolished and replaced by the wicked Empire.

Related: DC Movies In Order – Check Out The DC Movies In Chronological Order!

Solo: A Star Wars Story is a film based on the Star Wars franchise.

An origin story for everyone’s favorite galactic smuggler, Han Solo, set 10 years before the events of Star Wars: A New Hope. Young Solo is played by Alden Ehrenreich, who goes out to make his wealth and encounters future Star Wars characters Chewbacca and Lando Calrissian along the way.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story is a film based on the Star Wars franchise.

Rogue One is a stand-alone picture set immediately before the original Star Wars trilogy and recounts the story of a squad of Rebel agents who attempt to acquire the schematics for the Empire’s new secret weapon – the Death Star.

A New Hope (Star Wars: Episode IV)

The first Star Wars film is here, and it stars Mark Hamill as ambitious farm kid Luke Skywalker, Carrie Fisher as bold Princess Leia Organa, and Han Solo as cocksure smuggler Han Solo (Harrison Ford).

The Empire Strikes Back (Star Wars: Episode V)

The Empire Strikes Back, often regarded as the finest of the Star Wars films (and rightly so), takes place three years after the events of A New Hope and finds our heroes on the run from brutal Imperial forces.

Darth Vader exposes the truth to Luke, and a wise puppet named Yoda arrives to instruct him in the mysteries of the Force. Spoiler alert for a 40-year-old film… He’s Luke’s father, after all!

Return of the Jedi (Star Wars: Episode VI)

The third episode of the original trilogy takes place around a year after the events of Empire Strikes Back, and depicts the final showdown between Luke, Vader, and Vader’s master – Emperor Palpatine (Ian McDiarmid), a Sith Lord who has always lurked on the outside of the saga.

Related: Marvel Movies In Order – Watch All The Marvel Movies One By One!

The Force Awakens (Star Wars: Episode VII)

Hamill, Fisher, and Ford returned to the fold for director J.J. Abrams’ continuation of the narrative, 32 years after the original cast finished their war against the Empire (and three years after Star Wars inventor George Lucas sold his firm, Lucasfilm, to Disney).

However, the focus shifted to a new generation of heroes and villains, including Rey (Daisy Ridley), an impoverished junk trader with a strong connection to the Force, and Kylo Ren (Adam Driver), a disguised evil with a profound connection to Star Wars heritage. The film is set 30 years after the events of Star Wars: Return of the Jedi.

The Last Jedi (Star Wars: Episode VIII)

Rey continues her Jedi training under a hesitant Luke and builds an odd friendship with a conflicted Kylo Ren, while the rest of the Resistance — a Rebel Alliance-Esque branch led by Leia – fights the First Order, the wicked authority that came up to replace the destroyed Empire.

The Rise of Skywalker (Star Wars: Episode IX)

Palpatine, the Emperor, has returned. (Seriously!) And it’s up to Rey, Poe (Oscar Isaac), and Finn (John Boyega) from the sequel trilogy to save the galaxy once and for all.

Almost every surviving saga character (and even some of the dead ones) makes an appearance, as the chapter ends out the Skywalker saga in a grand manner. At least for the time being.

The Order of the Star Wars Films

Star Wars Movies In Order

Watching the Star Wars films in the sequence in which they were released has its advantages as well. You’ll see several of the franchise’s best flicks straight away, and numerous of the franchise’s biggest surprises will be revealed later. The following is the release order:

  • A New Hope (Star Wars: Episode IV) (1977)
  • The Empire Strikes Back (Star Wars: Episode V) (1980)
  • Return of the Jedi (Star Wars: Episode VI) (1983)
  • Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (Episode I) (1999)
  • Star Wars: Attack of the Clones (Episode II) (2002)
  • Revenge of the Sith (Star Wars: Episode III) (2005)
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Episode VII) (2015)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Rogue One: A Star Wars Story) (Rogue One: A Star (2016)
  • The Last Jedi (Star Wars: Episode VIII) (2017)
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story (#10) (2018)
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (Episode IX) (2019)

Related: Thor Love And Thunder Spoilers – Check Out The Latest Information!

Some fans recommend a third way to watch the movies, known as “the machete order,” in which you start with A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, then go back and watch the prequel trilogy, before returning to the original release order with Return of the Jedi and continuing on to The Force Awakens.

The main advantage of this arrangement is that it retains the Luke/Vader surprise while still allowing you to discover Anakin’s whole backstory before knowing his final fate.


Kimberly is a freelance writer with a love of writing and traveling. She has been writing for most of her life and has been published in various magazines and online publications. She writes about entertainment, technology, and lifestyle-related topics at Kimberly is always looking for new writing opportunities and loves learning about new cultures and experiences.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.